Free US and Canada Shipping * Call 973-761-1776 Anytime * No-Risk Field Trial

All Around Jacket Reviews

(Please click here for the main page on the All-Around Jacket.)

The best places to see independent WeatherWool reviews, lots of them, with new ones coming out steadily, are Instagram, Youtube and the many websites and web forums. But I put a review here from time to time.

4 June 2019
"BN" from Iowa has had an AAJ for 3 winters. We mostly avoid publishing anonymous reviews, but BN has had a lot of WeatherWool for quite a while, and he has professional reasons to keep his name out of cyberspace ... Here is his review, just as he sent the email to me:  "I use all around jac all winter for professional work, social outings, chores in the cattle lot and basically every day - it has never been cleaned and I have wore it to a 5 star steak house."

 

This is probably my favorite review ... it's a little long but kind of a funny and extreme story ... It's how Advisor Mike Dean and I got to know each other.

 

9 March 2019
Hi! This is Arnie [Dr Cohen] from Spokane. I bought your All Rounder [All-Around Jacket] and it has become my go to jacket for just about everything. I can't tell you how the drape, cut, hand, styling, breathability and warmth are perfect for me.

 

30 January 2019
I've been remiss in posting the reviews people have been sending.  Here is a review from Charles Crosman, who lives in the Pacific Northwest region of the USA:

I have direct experience with four WeatherWool products. First, Al's Anorak and Neck Gaiter. Following that, the ShirtJac. Finally, the All Around Jacket came my way. I've found each of these items to be first class in every respect. This Rambouillet wool ~ cool beans. It's the nuts. What a nonpareil fabric. Particularly so if you just happen to be a wool lover in the first place and pay attention to the differences in varying companies offerings. Very soft (yet seemingly tougher than other wool ~ due to it's greater density and manner of weave?,) anything but scratchy, indulgently warm and impressive in offering such a broad latitude of temperature control. - General at all times comfort. Fit-wise... everything lands on me as if it was tailor made. Each of these items displays the highest quality of thoughtfulness in design detail, built for a lifetime quality and dead on accuracy in sewing and assembly. It's offered elsewhere plenty I'm sure, but I too will reinforce my takeaway. There's really no beating what a high level of product that WW offers. It's obvious to the eye and palpable in all respects that these are top shelf garments. Customer Service? Wow. Here's a company that truly aims high and impresses with their best intentions that you're well taken care of. That bit's entirely transparent. Thank you Ralph and family.  --- Charles Crosman

16 May 2018
Advisor Don Nguyen just posted a WeatherWool All-Around Jacket vs Filson Double Mackinaw video on Youtube.

May 2018
The following material is from a customer who did not want us to use his name, just initials. Usually, we don't publish material without full identification, but I really love this review. Anyone who might question whether it is really true can check in with Advisor Mike Dean, who has had more than one more-or-less identical experience ...

Our customer "BN" is an All-Around Outdoorsman who for many years has enjoyed an early spring Walleye fishing trip to Lake Erie.  The weather on the Great Lakes is famously difficult, and BN has been experimenting over the years with different clothing systems in hopes of finding a single set of clothing that can handle whatever Nature dishes out. 

This (2018) year, BN wore his WeatherWool All-Around Jacket with Double Hood and FullWeight Pants over wool long johns and a wool sweater.   Some days, the conditions on Erie were simply too dangerous to leave port.  The worst day they did get out on the water, the temperature was about 28F/-2C, with heavy rain and wind speeds of 25-35mph (40-56kph).  BN said no matter what the weather did, he was fine … warm and dry … wearing nothing but wool, even on the toughest day. 

BN's companions all wore well-known synthetics, and brought duffel bags with extra clothes, but were still cold, somewhat wet and uncomfortable, even though the walleyes were really biting.

BN stressed that although the wool did get wet and heavy, the water and the cold did not reach him.  He has ordered some additional WeatherWool for the fall season, when he makes a similar fishing trip to Canada.  We will see if we can add a 2nd layer of wool to the thighs of his Pants. The idea behind the 2nd layer of wool is an experiment to see if it will act like the Double Yoke on the All-Around Jacket.

 

 

February 2018
OK ... we are used to customers coming up with new ideas ... but still, this one caught us by surprise. Robert bought his AAJ to wear over a tuxedo, and believes heavy rain creates a great fit. ... And Robert grew up working in the family haberdashery, so he speaks from experience.

"My All Around Jacket is working out great. I have worn it in several hard rains and it has begun to drape to the contour of my torso quite nicely. I [will] probably be getting a shirt or hoodie sometime soon for milder weather. Nothing like a good rain to bring out the qualities in a well made wool coat.   I'm off to my grand niece's Christening. If I have a chance to snap a [picture] in my jacket I'll send you one. Nephew's wedding is next week. I'll get y'all a shot with my tux for sure." --- From Robert Jarrell of South Carolina

 

WeatherWool All-Around Jacket over a tuxedoAnd, here is the tuxedo pic, as promised!

 

January 2018
"I continue to love both my AAJ and my Anorak. I know I owe you some urban photos of the AAJ in action, and I promise to get those done soon. It’s not my lack of wearing the coat certainly. I’m a total outerwear geek, and own tons of coats for all kinds of weather, at all kinds of price points. With all that to choose from, I find myself going for the AAJ in almost any circumstance this winter: early AM taking the dog outside, walking to work, wearing to a meeting, train trips to the city, and on. This winter it’s proven to be the All Around Jacket it claims to be!"  --- Rob Miller of Chicago area, Illinois

 

October 2017
"This thing is working out better than I ever imagined it could. Will continue my research!". Outdoor media professional Ron Spomer, after spending a couple of weeks testing the All-Around Jacket.

 

May 2017

WeatherWool Advisor Mike Dean

Bottom Line: He really likes it! Of all the people who have given us feedback on the AAJ, Mike Dean's was easily the most detailed, and Mike performed the most severe and methodical testing. He spent February, 2017 living completely off-grid in Northern Maine, and his review is lengthy, so we gave it a dedicated page.
Read Mike's review of some serious testing!


**********

Josh Westbrook - Advisor

March 2016

Josh wore WeatherWool through the winter of 2015-2016. Josh's company, The Brothers Crisp, makes some beautiful custom boots and we have the first pair he made with our Fabric.

"As a bootmaker and guy who has a great appreciation for tough garments, I spotted the quality of WeatherWool at a trade show from about 100 feet away. I couldn't go home without a whole suit! Everywhere I go in my WeatherWool, all kinds of people instantly recognize the quality and ask me about it. This is the best gear money can buy, worth every cent."

Truly,
Josh Westbrook
Founder/Shoemaker
The Brothers Crisp
860.874.3861
TheBrothersCrisp.com

**********

Randy Dewing in Indiana:

February 2015 

"These guys are great: quality product and awesome people. I am serious about wool, and I don't praise it lightly. I work in customer service, and I know good service when I see it. I had a problem with one of their jackets that was entirely of my own creation, and they hooked me up with an 'above and beyond' solution."

**********

Advisor Dwight Smith of Michigan:

November 2014

"Variant weather for my recent hunt for whitetail in up north Michigan. As I sat with cold north wind in my face on 25 degree morning in the AAJ and Mouton Hat waiting for the trophy or at least something that would allow me to feed my family of 5 to walk by, I was snug as a bug in a rug. I sat for 12 hours still. I stayed warm with a few mid layers (no wind penetration). I could have stayed longer, but the sun told me it was time to get down. A couple days later it was a high of 53 with rain and wind gusts around 17mph and I dropped a couple mid layers and the Mouton Hat and was equally as comfortable. I highly recommend this as I have been using various garments from all major sporting stores for the past 7 years and have finally found the perfect assembly. I was concerned the rain with the wool would create a scent, but to my surprise, it was minimal and undetected when I stalked and got within 60 yards of a buck on day 4 of my hunt. The squirrels chirped and the deer got up and walked away...probably thinking not today buddy. Will have to bring nuts to keep the squirrels quiet next time. I can't wait to try out the Boonie Hat with the big brim. Thanks again WeatherWool for keeping me warm and dry in the up north cold and wet weather. Will keep you posted on late season January hunt in Ohio. I don't want to mention how much money I have spent on trying to find the perfect blend. Yours takes the cake. It really does a great job from below freezing to various degrees above. I'm very thankful and feel fortunate I found you guys."

THANK YOU HUGE, DWIGHT!! --- Ralph

**********

Michael Heckman of Maryland:

October 2014,

"I am SO anxious to find the appropriate forum for me to post a glowing article or review of the AAJ. I've been wearing it as the temperature dips here in MD and in the mountains of Virginia. You'll notice that I just ordered the hood because I know the jacket will be even better with it.

The jacket certainly lives up to all of the great reviews it has received. I think I expected it to be great in cold weather. But here's what I did not expect:

1. The jacket replaces more than a heavy winter coat. It's exceptionally comfortable between 50 and 65 degrees— territory normally reserved for one of my synthetic 'fleece. The fact that this one garment actually can do triple duty makes it exceptionally good for traveling. It replaces a fleece, winter coat, and medium rain shell. For those hesitant about the price, I would argue that it's actually a bargain compared to the cost of comparable quality in the three garments it actually replaces.

2. And the biggest surprise came two weeks ago. You may remember that I was concerned about Lynx looking like camo. Recently, we had a corporate dinner cruise. The wind was blowing about 30 knots and I knew it would be freezing on deck. I didn't know what reaction would come, but compliments on my 'GQ look' were definitely not among my expectations. Women in particular wanted to know who the 'designer' was and what the fabric was. I have been called many things in my life, but 'fashionable' has not been one of them.

In short, I LOVE this jacket! I may not work in extreme environments like your other reviewers, but I'm anxious to share my enthusiasm for WeatherWool from a 'regular guy' perspective. I'd be glad to write that review now and then update when I go on my photo adventure [the Andes in Chile] if you'd like."

**********

Lee Hagan of Florida:

November 2014 

"I am back from my Montana elk hunt and I have to say the All Around Jacket performed nicely. We didn't have any severely cold weather (like they are having this week). Our temps were in the 30's and 40's but we had winds constantly in the 25-40 mph range all week. I took a nice 6x6 bull (my first) on the second day of the hunt. I had several people comment on the AAJ. With the winds we had the hood was a real life saver while we were glassing. Thanks for a great product and great customer service.

Under the AAJ I wore a Smartwool mid-weight (250 I think) zip neck base layer and an LL Bean Chamois shirt. The shirt was a little heavy. It is also cotton and did get a little damp from sweat. Most of the time it was unbuttoned for ventilation. I would have been better wearing a vest or lighter weight shirt (wool or similar). Walking uphill I did get a little overheated but I just unzipped the AAJ. Just an observation on my part-what about "pit zips" to aid in ventilation? I wore a Stormy Kromer original hat. When we stopped to glass the ear flaps came down and the AAJ hood would come up. I generally don't like hoods but this one was great."

**********

Randy Peukert, Utah

December 2014

"Your wool material is just awesome. I've never encountered something so sturdy and supple at the same time. For me, I will put it through hard paces/work as I am 'outdoors' quite a bit. And I can see fashion conscious New Yorkers wearing your wool around Manhattan :-). I must also add that your AAJ's are the best ever wool jacket that I've ever come across. You and your family certainly make an outstanding product. I totally appreciate your dedication to making the AAJ the best jacket possible."

Randy has at least two All-Around Jackets, and his Mrs wears WeatherWool also.