Free US and Canada Shipping * Call 973-761-1776 Anytime * No-Risk Field Trial

ShirtJac Reviews

The best places to see independent WeatherWool reviews, lots of them, with new ones coming out steadily, are Instagram, Youtube and the many websites and web forums. But I put a review here from time to time.

16 February 2019
I should have posted this back in November, but anyway ... Here is correspondence between me and customer Jim Bonney: 

November 9, 2018
Hi again!

Just got my medium weight shirt jac about an hour ago. It’s perfect. The cut is amazing. You lengthened what needed to be lengthened, the buttons are rock solid, the medium weight fabric is perfect for my needs and the Lynx pattern is nothing short of extraordinary. I’m keeping the three business cards of yours I have in the chest pocket so when I’m asked about this shirt I can hand them out. Simply fantastic. Can’t wait to test the performance of the fabric in the rain.

Thanks a lot! This will be my go to woolen for the rest of my life or until you release more hoodies. Truly well done!

Jim B

On Fri, Nov 9, 2018 at 12:57 PM <ralph@weatherwool.com> wrote:
THANKS JIM! --- Can we put this on the website? With your name? 

Either way, we really, really appreciate the feedback and the support! It makes a big difference to a small family company.

We hope you wear the ShirtJac in great health for many years! ---- Ralph & Family

From: Jim Bonney <jimbobonney@gmail.com> 
Sent: Friday, November 9, 2018 4:51 PM
To: ralph@weatherwool.com
Subject: Re: WeatherWool

Please do!

I’ll touch base with you after the first of the year and I’ve used it in the rain, snow and sleet we get in winter around here. For Christmas all I’m asking for is WeatherWool gift cards.

I expected high quality but I have to admit I feel like I robbed you.

JB

On Fri, Nov 9, 2018 at 2:01 PM < ralph@weatherwool.com> wrote: 
Ohhhhh …. That last line is a killer!!

Have an awesome Holiday season! ---- What a fantastic time of year! ---- THANKS ---- Ralph
 
On Fri, Nov 9, 2018 at 3:09 PM Jim Bonney < jimbobonney@gmail.com> wrote: 
Thanks, you too! 

JB 
 
On Nov 21, 2018, at 12:35, Jim Bonney <jimbobonney@gmail.com> wrote:
Hi again Ralph, 

I can’t seem to stop pestering you. So far the performance of this shirt jac has been what I would normally call unbelievable. For such a thin material this stuff retains body heat to a degree that I would have thought not possible. By itself it’s more effective than two similarly thick smartwool sweaters stacked on top of each other under my waxed Carhartt work jacket. 

Unreal. Happy thanksgiving! 

JB 
 
On Wed, Nov 21, 2018 at 9:45 AM Ralph - WeatherWool <ralph@weatherwool.com> wrote:
Huge thanks for these kind words, Jim!!! We really really appreciate it! 
If anything goes wrong, we are here!
All the Best to you and yours for Thanksgiving! ---- Ralph, Debby, Alex, Denali 
 
26 November 2018
Hi again Ralph,

Got my first opportunity to use Weatherwool in the rain. 40 degrees, 1 hour, light stroll, no problem. Used your ball cap and gaiter as well. This stuff does exactly what you say it does. I’ve never encountered a fabric like this before. It’s truly remarkable and you win, I’ll be a customer as long as it exists.

I know you put me on the waiting list for a hoodie. I had said before I wanted a Lynx fullweight. I don’t know if you’re keeping track of colors but I’d like to switch to black. I’d like to make it my outdoor work jacket. As much I love Lynx I find myself babying the beautiful ShirtJac mainly because of how pretty the Lynx pattern is. I think I’ll be more inclined to wear the hoodie when I need it the most if it’s plain black vs your amazing Lynx pattern. 

I can’t pay you a higher compliment than to say if I’m stuck during the daily grind outside in the wet and cold I want your product. Nobody makes what you’re making. Your hoodie is priced at a bargain considering what else is out there for legit weatherproof work clothes. It’s hardly more than a Filson cotton jacket. 

Maybe I’ll get lucky and win the lottery, then I can buy the whole line of goods. Til then I’ll build my WeatherWool stash like Johnny Cash built his Cadillac.

All the best and can’t wait to get more WeatherWool!

JB

12 February 2019
Jerry Fisk might actually be America's best-respected knife maker, which is saying A LOT!! Jerry has been wearing one of our MidWeight ShirtJacs and he put these words on Instagram a couple of days ago, when he used his ShirtJac as a backdrop for presenting one of his awesome knives:  "The background is a lynx pattern Weatherwool shirt jacket. I am a wool person. It will last 3 to 4 times longer, is absolutely the best material you can wear in the Bush. Weatherwool is the best wool shirts I have worn. And, no, I am not on the payroll. But I do know quality when it is my hands."

11 February 2018
We just got a really nice and surprising review of the ShirtJac from a Commercial Diver who works year round on the lower Mississippi River. He uses the ShirtJac before and after diving, during construction work, and even WHILE DIVING!

January 2019
Here is a review published by Explore Magazine and written by Kevin Callan, the magazine's field editor and a well-known tester of outdoor products.

And a comment sent to us by Bruce Carlson:  "Received my XL Lynx wool ShirtJac yesterday. Wore it to work today. 5-6 compliments….everyone wanted to 'touch' it!'"

Leo Grizzaffi, writer
Leo Grizzaffi is a very well-known outdoor writer.   He's been testing our ShirtJac and introducing WeatherWool at his many appearances.   On this occasion, he had presented an award of a very valuable historical handgun to this beaming Lady.   The ShirtJac in FullWeight LYNX Pattern Fabric makes a great  substitute for a suit jacket.

Leo commented that the ShirtJac is warm when needed and cool when needed and generates a lot of interest.

THANKS LEO!

**********

December 2015


Garrett Riffle, one of the Founders of Up Mountain Switchel :

“Yeah, you guys really nailed it with the lynx pattern. Non-Camo minded folk don't even see it as camo, more a complex and organic looking pattern … the jacket was a huge hit at the party. Everybody loved it! WeatherWool is breaking into high fashion! I told many people what the jacket was and your website. The compliments keep coming in. Everything from “I like your jacket” “cool coat” to “that jacket is straight fire!!!” fire meaning it’s “hot”. Anyway. Lynx is a hit!”